I bet we’ve all experienced a moment when we’ve immediately regretted hitting send. Well, now in iMessages on your iPhone, iPad and Mac, you can quickly undo send.
To unsend a message in the Message app long press on the message to bring up the quick actions menu and choosing Undo Send.
READY TO START YOUR OWN YOUTUBE CHANNEL?
If you manage to delete the message before your recipient opens it, all they will see is a notification that you unsent a message.
Otherwise if they happen to be in the Messages app or open the message before you unsend it, they will see it before it disappears from their thread.
You have 2 minutes to unsend a message and it only works on the blue iMessages,not the green sms messages, and only between devices that are on iOS or iPadOS16 and Mac Ventura.
Devices running older versions of the operating systems will receive the message and it won’t be removed, even after you press Undo Send.
You can also now edit a message the same way by long pressing on it to bring up the quick actions menu.
Notice that both you and the recipient will be notified that a message has been edited. And both parties can still view the original incorrect message by clicking on the little blue Edited text.
Messages can be edited up to 5 times within 15 minutes. After that the option will disappear from the quick actions menu. And, as before it only works for iMessages not the green SMS messages, and only on the most recent version of Apple’s operating systems.
Naturally, you get exactly the same experience in the Messages app on iPad. Simply long press and choose Undo Send.
On mac, rather than a long press, just right click to see the same options. Edits work in exactly the same way.